Archive | New Music RSS feed for this section

Syd Arthur -‘Sun Rays’

4 Jul

Syd Arthur release a new track ‘Sun Rays’, ahead of October 21st album release.  Listen below:


‘Syd Arthur’ is brothers Liam Magill, Joel Magill (bass, vocals), and Josh Magill (drums) and Raven Bush (violin, keyboards, mandolin). Formed in Canterbury, England, in 2003, the band has explored the myriad possibilities of improvisation, taking an exceptional approach born of prodigious musicianship, elemental song-craft, and an unabashed spirit of adventure. They have released three albums so far, including 2014’s Sound Mirror.

Syd Arthur will tour with Jake Bugg in the US in September 7th. Prior to that, they will perform at Bushstock and Glastonbury Festivals, as well as playing a headline show at London’s Electrowerkz on 13th July.


EVVOL -‘Physical L.U.V’ Video

28 Jun

Since returning from European live runs with both Peaches and YACHT, Berlin-based darkwave-pop duo Evvol have spent the past few months holed up in their Kreuzberg studio writing the follow-up to last year’s critically acclaimed debut ‘Eternalism.’ ‘Physical L.U.V’ (!K7 Records) is the result – a dense, ethereal and very personal EP, documenting the physical and emotional comforts and constraints of love.

“We feel ‘Physical L.U.V’ is a pop song for 2016, a truth-telling story about motivations and expectations, and we wanted a video to match that. Produced in rural Germany, our short film tells the story of Luka, a genderqueer teenager whose everyday life consists of creating creamy ice-cold milkshakes in a gym and taking good care of the equipment. The story begins when Luka hitches a ride from a farmer in a tractor after work and encounters his daughter. Back at her parents’ dairy farm, they experience a special kind of ‘Physical L.U.V.’Evvol

Formed in 2014 from the ashes of previous musical projects and having rekindled their fractured relationship, Evvol – AKA Irish singer Julie Chance and Australian multi-instrumentalist Jane Arnison – embarked on a new and revitalised direction. Debut full-length ‘Eternalism’ was the sound of commercial pop fused with arty electronica, dripping with industrial charm and evoking Berlin’s seedy underbelly. Under a former moniker they have previously toured the world with Austra, and shared the stage with Grimes, Peaches and TRUST.

Less than a year after announcing their debut album to the world, Evvol look set to pick up the electronic-pop mantle and make 2016 their own. They play The Garage in London on 14th May to mark the release of ‘Physical L.U.V.’

Watch the video here:

THE ALBUM LEAF – ‘Between Waves’

22 Jun

THE ALBUM LEAF have been making their mark steadily since 1999. One year after forming the influential San Diego instrumental group Tristeza, songwriter & multi-instrumentalist Jimmy LaValle founded THE ALBUM LEAF, a solo studio project turned full-fledged live band. Over time, THE ALBUM LEAF (now based in Los Angeles) has grown from a side-project  to LaValle’s main focus. The project’s first releases, An Orchestrated Rise To Fall (1999) and One Day I’ll Be On Time (2001), intertwined field recordings, Rhodes piano, and a nuanced treatment of texture with mature songwriting and dense, evocative atmospheres.

Following a European and a second US tour with Sigur Rós, LaValle left Tristeza to devote his full attention to THE ALBUM LEAF. In 2016, the band partnered with renowned label Relapse Records for the release of the group’s sixth studio album and first since 2010’s A Chorus Of Storytellers (Sub Pop).

Jimmy LaValle
Matthew Resovich
Brad Lee
David LeBleu

Band of the Week: Morning Smoke

25 Nov

Brighton noise-pop quartet Morning Smoke are set to release their third single, ‘Soft Decay’ through Cannibal Hymns on 4th December.

The band have released an EP, ‘In Euphoria’ and two singles ‘Hunger’ and ‘Unknown’, since forming in 2013, and already gained support from Radio 1 and XFM. Still, ‘Soft Decay’ might be their most impressive statement yet. Underpinned by Isaac Ide and Christopher Shaw’s inventive bass and drums, Milo McNulty and Max Wright wring thick fogs of distortion from their guitars, as McNulty passionately howls his way through the track.

Recorded by Rory Atwell, who has previously worked with Parma Violets, The Vaccines and Yuck, ‘Soft Decay’ is the kind of infectious, disaffected anthem you thought bands had stopped writing since the nineties/

Listen here:

New Music: Bad Grammar.

4 Aug
Image Source:

Image Source:

So, in my inaugural trip to Birthdays, Dalston last week, I had anticipated seeing the ubiquitous Love Buzzard. Instead, I found Bad Grammar, a lesser-known-but-just-as-mighty duo from Manchester. Playing to a crowd of no more than thirty people, the two young’uns – aka Ben Forrester and Lucy Brown – excited with their loud, brash riffs and drum sequences. Recounting their experience travelling down to London, Ben (electric guitar) talked about the boy on the train who apparently shit himself, before launching with no-nonsense into some skilled music mastery. Wicked.

Bad Grammar is better appreciated live, but listen here, if you so care:

New Music: Makthaverskan.

29 Jul
Image source:

Image source:

In Swedish, ‘Makthaverskan’ is translated as ‘the woman with the power’. Masters of uber-melodic, indie pop, the Gothenburg quartet have just released their second full-length album on Swedish label ‘Luxury’.

Listen here:

Copyright disclaimer: The editor(s) and writer(s) of Crash Music blog do not own rights to any images or media shared. Content is shared out of mutual admiration and not distributed for financially profitable purposes. The owners and/or license-holders can request removal at any time. Contact info here:

Wolf Alice Release New Track ‘She’ – Listen Now

15 Aug

An update from the rising Wolf Alice. Fresh off a UK-wide tour and playing at several festivals (including Longitude and Great Escape), the quartet are due to release an EP ‘Blush’  on 14th October 2013 through Chess Club Records . Co-produced by the band themselves along with Austen Jux-Chandler, the first single ‘She’ (first streamed on the 14th August) retains all the loud, building choruses that have characterized their songs to date. Only, this time, everything – from singer Ellie Rowsell’s voice to the song composition – is more mature.

Listen here: